New Opposition leader and New Bill to only Allow Sarawakians to Contest IN Sarawak Polls.

The Sarawak DUN Sitting from 9th to the 13th November 2020 will see a New Opposition Leader and also a new bill only allowing Sarawakians to contest in Sarawak Polls which will be tabled.

{Extracted from on line portal}


PARTI Sarawak Bersatu (PSB) President Datuk Seri Wong Soon Koh is the new opposition leader in Sarawak, and will be leading the opposition bench in the Sarawak Legislative Assembly (DUN) sitting, which starts today.

DUN Speaker Datuk Amar Mohamad Asfia Awang Nassar said the opposition bench was previously led by Kota Sentosa assemblyman Chong Chieng Jen, also the Sarawak DAP and Pakatan Harapan chairman.

However, PSB has numerical superiority over DAP after the latter’s Padungan assemblyman Wong King Wei resigned from the party in July.

PSB has six state seats while DAP has five.

“With PSB having one more state seat, the changes in the seating arrangement in the chambers is unavoidable.

Furthermore, PSB President and Bawang Assan assemblyman (Wong) is currently in his sixth term as the Honourable Member of the DUN,” he said after a press conference held following Gabungan Parti Sarawak’s (GPS) DUN pre-council meeting yesterday.

Only Sarawakians Can Contest In Polls

ONLY loyal Sarawakians should contest in state polls, said Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) information chief Datuk Idris Buang.

Earlier this year, Idris proposed a Bill to amend Article 16 of Sarawak State Constitution which he hoped to table during the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) session which convenes today.

According to the Muara Tuang assemblyman, he proposed the Bill to ensure only Sarawakians assume representation in the Legislative Assembly and to bar undesirable politicians from contesting in the 12th State Election (PRN12).

Besides, he also mentioned that the amendments were necessary to bar unwanted elements that were prevailing in Malaya from impacting the state’s development and socio-economy.

“The proposed Bill is also aimed at preventing any non-Sarawakian from any parties to seek for a seat in the state legislature.

“Be it from United Malays National Organisation (Umno), Malaysian Islamic Party (PAS), Democratic Action Party (DAP), People’s Justice Party (PKR), Malaysian United Indigenous Party (Bersatu), National Trust Party (Amanah) and others,” he said in a statement which was reported by the New Sarawak Tribune.