Precautionary Measures Implemented “Schools Closed,CMCO,New Temporary Bill for Sarawak” all due to Pandemic #Covid19

The Covid19 3rd wave has swept the Nation and Precautionary measures and assistance are being looked into by the Federal Government and the Sarawak Ruling Government.

{Here are some of the Articles Extracted from online portals with Thanks}

Schools Closure November 9th 2020 to January 20th 2021

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 8 — In light of the country’s current Covid-19 situation, schools and vocational colleges will close starting November 9 to the last day of the 2020 school calendar year on December 17 (Category A) and December 18 (Category B), Education Minister Mohd Radzi Md Jidin said today.

He said this includes schools in Kelantan, Pahang, Perlis and Sarawak, since schools in states that will observe the conditional movement control order (CMCO) comprises 74 per cent of the total number of schools under the education ministry.

“This step was taken as an effort to break the Covid-19 infection chain,” he told a press conference that was broadcasted live.

While the schools are closed, students will continue their lessons at home with suitable methods determined by the teacher.

“Throughout this duration, lessons will be conducted through home-based learning following teachers’ and students’ suitability.

“Throughout this duration also, teachers are to remain at their respective work stations,” he said.

As for boarding school students, Radzi said parents are to bring their children home.

“However, students can continue to stay at their respective boarding schools until their parents pick them up.

“Through this duration, students will be under the care of the boarding school warden and their needs including essentials and food will be taken care of by the boarding school,” he said.

Both primary and secondary schools nationwide had resumed on July 15 in phases, as the country had entered into recovery MCO.

For the new schooling calendar 2021, Radzi announced that the new semester will start on January 20.

“All primary schoolchildren will return to school (physically) on this date.

“As for secondary students — Form One, Four, Five and Six, and all vocational schools, will also start school on the same date.

“However, for students in Form Two and Three, they will start school but via online or home-based learning. They will return to school (physically) on March 8,” said Radzi.

He added that all these guidelines are to be followed across the board, including private schools and institutions that are registered under the education ministry.

“As for schools that are not registered with the education ministry, they are encouraged to follow these guidelines,” he said.

In answer to queries about school enrolment for boarding schools, religious schools, technic, vocational and Royal Military College, for Form One to Four, Radzi said that they would be postponed to a date to be announced later.

For students who have enrolled under the matriculation college or teaching institutions, classes will be conducted fully online, said Radzi.

“Students are encouraged to do their own revision until December 31.

“The students under the education ministry’s matriculation programme will return to campus on January 4, 2021.

“For students enrolled with teaching institutions, classes and assessment will follow the Teachers Education Programme Calendar for year 2020/2021 and 2021/2011. Students will return to campus on January 17,” he said.

The above guidelines are set following the recent extension of the conditional MCO from November 9 to December 6.

Conditional Movement Control Order {CMCO}

The rules under the CMCO are as follows:

  • only two members of a household may leave the house to buy necessities;
  • all schools, higher education institutions, training institutes, kindergartens, childcare centres, public parks and recreational centres will be closed;
  • activities in the economic, industrial and trade sectors would be allowed to operate as usual, but the working hours may be limited;
  • all forms of public transport such as buses, taxis and e-hailing services are allowed to operate from 6am to 12am;
  • daily markets are allowed to open from 6am to 2pm, while wholesale markets may operate from 4am to 2pm, and night markets 4pm to 10pm;
  • clinics and public hospitals will be allowed to open for 24 hours while pharmacies and medicine stores may operate from 8am to 11pm;
  • fishing, farming and the agriculture sectors may operate as usual; and
  • all social gatherings, including weddings, and entertainment activities are not allowed.

Sarawak to table bill on temporary measures #COVID19

KUCHING, Nov 8 — Temporary Measures for Reducing the Impact of Coronavirus Disease, 2019 (Covid-19) Bill will be one of the five government bills to be tabled at next week’s sittings of the Sarawak state legislative assembly, speaker Datuk Amar Asfia Awang Nassar said today.

He said the bill will be tabled by deputy chief minister Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah, who is also the chairman of the Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), tomorrow.

“Members will be given the maximum time to debate on this bill and other bills,” he told reporters after attending Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) pre-council meeting at Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) headquarters here.

Asfia said Uggah will outline the details of the Covid-19 bill when he tables it tomorrow.

The other bills that will be tabled are the Supply (2021), Supplementary Supply (2020), Local Authorities (Amendment) Bill, and the Constitutition of the State of Sarawak (Amendment).

He said Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Openg, who is also the state Finance and Economic Planning Minister, will table the Supply Bill or the state Budget 2021 tomorrow and it will be debated on November 11 and 12.

He said Local Government and Housing Minister Datuk Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian will table the Local Authorities (Amendment) Bill tomorrow while state Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister Datuk Karim Rahman Hamzah will present the Constitution of Sarawak (Amendment) Bill on Tuesday.

Asfia also said that apart from the chief minister, the three deputy chief ministers- Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah, Tan Sri Dr James Masing and Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan – will wind up the debate on matters raised during the debate on the state Budget.

“Originally, it was supposed to be the chief minister alone to wind up the debate on behalf of other ministers, but at this pre-council meeting, it was decided that his three deputies will also wind up the debate,” he said.

He said other state ministers will not wind up the debate to shorten the duration of the state assembly’s sittings from eight to five days.

He said the time of sittings will remain unchanged, from 9am to 6pm.